CSCC Softball Team Named 2012-2013 NJCAA Academic Team of the Year

Posted on August 09, 2012

  CLEVELAND, TN. – The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) recently recognized the Cleveland State Community College Softball Team as 2012-2013 Academic Team of the Year. 
To be eligible for this honor, a team must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. The Cleveland State Softball Team had a cumulative GPA of 3.05 for 2012-2013, qualifying them for this award.
“We stress, as a coaching staff, that education comes before athletics, student before athlete, and we express to our team that their academics and degree are what will help get them to the next successful step in life,” stated CSCC Softball Coach Katie Willingham. “This group of young women has exceeded our expectations and I couldn’t be more thrilled as a coach. This national recognition was not a team goal of ours, but it shows how difficult it is as a student athlete to balance education and athletics. They have set the bar high for the years to come. I am extremely proud of them and their accomplishment.”
  Members of the 2012-2013 Cleveland State Softball Team included: Meghan Allen, Amber Covington, Maura Ditto, Kenzie Fish, Sarah Goza, Casey Griffin, Shelby Hanson, Sydney Howell, Kenly Lambert, Heather Lynn, Paige Mayer, Ashlen Mitchell, Meghan Smith, Kerstyn Stansberry, Kelly Sullins, and Halen Weeks.
   “I would like to congratulate the Softball Team on this tremendous honor,” stated Athletic Director Mike Policastro. “It is a tremendous honor to be named to this distinguished honor. We are proud of their accomplishments and their representation of Cleveland State.”

Photo Cutline: (Front Row) Pictured left to right: Meghan Allen, Amber Covington, Kerstyn Stansberry, Jamie Andrews, and Heather Lynn. (Middle Row) Ashlen Mitchell, Paige Mayer, Casey Griffin, Kenly Lambert, Meghan Smith, Sydney Howell, and Maura Ditto. (Back Row) Kelly Sullins, Kenzie Fish, Morgan