CSCC Accepting Nominations for Third Annual Community First Awards & Gala

CSCC Accepting Nominations for Third Annual Community First Awards & Gala

Holly Vincent
Friday, December 8, 2017 12:00 AM


Visit the Community First Awards & Gala Website


CLEVELAND, Tenn. – Cleveland State Community College is currently accepting nominations for its Third Annual Community First Awards and Gala to honor individuals who have a passion for giving back to the communities they serve. The Community First Awards will recognize those individuals who go above and beyond in their work and service to others.
             “We are very enthusiastic to be working toward the Third Annual Community First Awards and Gala,” stated Dr. Bill Seymour, CSCC President. “This program has become a big success, and we were happy to present awards across all sectors of our five-county community. It really is the only awards program of its kind, and it is Cleveland State's signature fundraiser of the year.  Again, we are looking for individuals who exemplify the ideal of ‘always putting the community first.’  Recognition could be for those who have demonstrated a lifetime of achievement in one of the nine categories, or an individual who has done something truly outstanding this previous year.”
            Nominations will be sought in nine different categories: Arts, Business, Education, Public Service, Volunteer Service, Non-Profit Leadership, Healthcare, Student Leadership and Philanthropy. Nominations will be judged based on the nominees’ “extraordinary commitment of time, talent and treasure to the community, and the lasting impact to the quality of life that we all cherish.” Nominations are open to the public, and the nomination form is available online at until Friday, January 19.  The winners of each category will be announced in early February; however, the college will keep the name of its most prestigious award, the Community First Person of the Year, a surprise until the night of the event. The winner of this award will be chosen from among the people being honored as category winners this year. (To see a complete list of last year’s award winners, categories and clips of their acceptance speeches, visit
            Anyone living in Cleveland State’s five-county service area is eligible to receive a Community First Award. That includes Bradley, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe and Polk counties.
            Seymour stated, “We want to make sure we promote the best in the communities across all of our five counties.”
            The date for the Community First Awards and Gala has not been set, although it will be in March of 2018. For more information, visit the website at To become a sponsor for this event, contact Cindy Dawson at (423) 614-8703 or email her at The gala also serves as a fundraiser for the CSCC Foundation, and dinner will be provided. More details to come soon.


Partners & Initiatives

  • Cleveland Bradley Business Incubator
  • America's SBDC Tennesseey
  • Your Skills. Your Future.
  • OneSource
  • Cleveland State Sustainability Initiative
  • TBR The College System of Tennessee
  • TN eCampus
  • Tennessee Transfer Pathway