CSCC’S Saez Appointed to Malcom Baldrige Board of Examiners

CSCC’S Saez Appointed to Malcom Baldrige Board of Examiners

Holly Vincent
Friday, July 7, 2017 12:00 AM
Employees, All

The Commerce Department’s National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has
named Dr. Megen Saez at Cleveland State Community College in Cleveland, TN to the Board of Examiners for the 2017 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The Baldrige Award is the nation’s highest honor for organizational innovation and performance excellence. Appointed by the NIST Director, examiners are responsible for reviewing and evaluating applications submitted for the Baldrige Award, as well as other assessment-related tasks. The examiner board is composed of more than 340 leading experts competitively selected from industry, professional, trade, education, health care and nonprofit (including government) organizations from across the United States.

Those selected meet the highest standards of qualification and peer recognition, demonstrating competencies related to customer focus, communication, ethics, action orientation, team building and analytical skills. All members of the board must take part in a nationally ranked leadership development course based on the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence and the scoring/evaluation processes for the Baldrige Award.

Outside of her service to the board, Saez is the Department Chair of Business and Associate Professor in CIS at Cleveland State Community College. She also teaches for online Universities in MBA and doctoral programs. Saez demonstrates dedication in her field with personal leadership and outstanding business skills, proving excellence standards, which contributes to her distinguished service on the Baldrige board.

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987. Awards may be given annually to organizations in each of six categories: manufacturing, service, small business, education, health care and nonprofit. The Award promotes innovation and excellence in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicizes successful performance strategies. Since the first group was recognized in 1988, 114 awards have been presented to 106 organizations (including seven repeat recipients). The 2016 winners are Don Chalmers Ford, Rio Rancho, N.M. (small business); Momentum Group, Irvine, Calif. (small business); Kindred Nursing and Rehabilitation–Mountain Valley, Kellogg, Idaho (health care); and Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Hospital, Sugar Land, Texas (health care).

NIST manages the Baldrige Award in close conjunction with the private sector.

The Baldrige Performance Excellence Program also offers the 2017–2018 Baldrige Excellence Framework: A Systems Approach to Improving Your Organization’s Performance, which includes the world-emulated Criteria for Performance Excellence; Baldrige Excellence Builder; Baldrige Cybersecurity Excellence Builder; nationally ranked leadership training; and the Baldrige Collaborative Assessment and other assessment tools.

For information on the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program and the Baldrige Award application process, call (301) 975-2036, send an e-mail to, or visit Media with questions, needing background or wishing to arrange interviews with Baldrige Program officials should contact Michael E. Newman, NIST Public Affairs Office, at (301) 975-3025 or



Partners & Initiatives

  • Cleveland Bradley Business Incubator
  • America's SBDC Tennesseey
  • Your Skills. Your Future.
  • OneSource
  • Cleveland State Sustainability Initiative
  • TBR The College System of Tennessee
  • TN eCampus
  • Tennessee Transfer Pathway